Drunk Driving Attorney
James C. Gallo is an experienced DUI attorney practicing drunk driving defense in Las Vegas, NV. He also represents clients for DUI arrests throughout Clark County, Nevada. An experienced DUI attorney can help you at every stage of the case. The primary goals in most misdemeanor DUI cases are to avoid any jail time, the administrative suspension and a DUI conviction.
First offense DUI: A conviction for a first offense DUI requires a minimum of 2 days in jail and not more than 6 months in jail; a fine not less than $400.00 and no more than $1,000. Second offense DUI: A second offense DUI conviction within seven years requires a minimum of 10 days in jail but not more than 6 months in jail; a fine of not less than $750.00 and no more than $1,000. DUI Drug Charges in Las Vegas, Clark County, NV. Nevada 484C.110 criminalizes driving under the influence of drugs. DUI cases involving drugs can be proven in two alternative ways in Las Vegas, Clark County, NV.
First, the prosecutor can attempt to show that the driver was under the influence of drugs to a degree which renders him incapable of safely driving. The LVMPD DUI Vans are designated to assist with the arrest and processing of drunk or impaired drivers in the Las Vegas Valley. DUI Classes in Las Vegas – Visit the official website for the City of Las Vegas to learn more about the program for driving under the influence including DUI educational classes offered in English and Spanish. The DUI classes in Las Vegas provide offenders with information and statistics on the effects of alcohol and other chemical substances on a personal ability to drive, an understanding of Nevada DUI law, and how to be accountable for their actions. Classroom options include 4 DUI cases or 2 DUI accelerated classes.
The Prosecution of DUI Cases in Nevada – Visit the website for the Advisory Council for Prosecution Attorneys in Nevada to learn more about Nevada’s Driving Under the Influence Laws.
Georgia DUI Laws
Understanding DUI. There are some startling facts that you may be unaware of about being charged with driving under the influence in Georgia. Another detail that trips up many individuals is mistakenly assuming that the state of Georgia allows their DUI record to be expunged after the passage of time. A DUI conviction remains on your criminal record forever, following you to the grave. Since a criminal record can jeopardize your present employment and future career, it’s vital to aggressively contest any charges with an experienced and highly qualified DUI attorney.
It is a criminal offense in Georgia to operate a car, truck, motorcycle, or pilot a watercraft when a motorist’s ability is impaired by the use of alcohol or drugs, or if a driver’s blood alcohol concentration is above regulated allowances. 08% BAC is the statutory limit at which you may be charged with DUI, you could also be convicted at just.05% if the prosecution can firmly establish beyond a reasonable doubt that you were a less safe driver due to the consumption of alcohol. The legal BAC limit for commercial license holders and underage drivers is even lower. A commercial driver could be convicted at.04% and a driver under the age of 21 could be convicted with a BAC of just.02%. The Punishment. The judge will consider any prior DUI offenses, the presence of a child or children in the vehicle, whether any other moving violations occurred, whether a commercial vehicle was being operated or whether there was any property damage, injury, or death. 02%.
For a fourth DUI offense, your vehicle may be confiscated. Due to public pressure and media attention, judges are unlikely to be lenient in DUI cases where individuals plead guilty; therefore, hiring an experienced and affordable DUI lawyer is more important than ever. The DUI defense attorneys at The Turner Firm, LLC win more cases where individuals are charged with DUI than any other law firm in the State of Georgia.
DUI Glossary, DWI Vocabulary, Drunken Driving Terms
Administrative license revocation: Confiscation of driver’s license immediately upon refusal of a breath/blood test, or testing above the legal limit for breath/blood alcohol concentration. All 50 states have a limit of.08 grams of alcohol per 100 ml, and many states have lower limits for commercial vehicle drivers or those under 21. Conditional license: A conditional license is a license given in return for something such as completing a DUI course or alcohol treatment program. Generally refers to alcohol intoxication, but DUI can also apply to the influence of legal or illegal drugs, or toxic vapors. DWI: Driving while intoxicated or driving while impaired.
Generally synonymous with DUI, but some states have a lesser DWI charge for certain BAC. DUI school: Drug and alcohol education programs designed to teach drivers the dangers of drinking and driving and reduce the chance of repeat offenses. Drunken driving: A term commonly substituted for DUI. DWAI: Driving while ability impaired. Implied consent: A legal concept that defines driving as a privilege, and says that operation of a motor vehicle in and of itself is grounds for requiring a blood or breath test.
MADD or Mothers Against Drunk Driving: MADD is a national nonprofit organization whose goal is to reduce incidences of DUI through tougher laws and education outreach. Provisional or restricted license: A license that restricts driving for certain purposes such as for work, travel to a DUI school or to the court. Rising curve defense: A defense to DUI charges based upon the claim that a driver was not under the influence when he or she was driving, but that their BAC rose to that level after arrest because alcohol was still being absorbed. Vehicle impound: Towing a vehicle to a designated police impound yard after the driver is arrested for DUI. Vehicle immobilization: The act of making a vehicle incapable of driving with a device such as a boot or ignition interlock device.