North Carolina DUI DWI Law
When you apply for and accept the privilege to drive a vehicle in Arizona, you give consent to test for blood alcohol concentration or drug content if you are arrested for driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs. If you are stopped for driving under the influence and a test shows that you have an alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or more, or if a blood alcohol or drug test result is not available, you will lose your driving privilege on the spot. In addition you will be required to complete alcohol or drug screening before you can obtain a restricted permit or reinstate your driving privilege. You may be found guilty of driving while intoxicated or while under the influence of any drug or its metabolite even though the blood alcohol concentration was less than 0.08 percent. If you refuse to submit to or do not successfully complete any tests when you are arrested for driving under the influence, you will automatically lose your driving privilege for 12 months or 24 months for a second refusal within 84 months. In addition to any criminal penalties imposed by the court for a second or third offense DUI violation, your driving privilege will be automatically revoked. Aggravated DUI. This category of DUI applies to a person who commits a DUI while suspended, revoked or canceled; commits a third DUI in 84 months; commits a DUI while a person under 15 is in the vehicle; or commits a DUI or refuses to submit a blood alcohol content test while under an ignition interlock device requirement. The driver blows into the device before attempting to turn the ignition. If the driver’s alcohol level is above a certain level, the vehicle will not start. While the vehicle is operating, the driver must blow into the device at random intervals.
Maryland Impaired Driving Laws
Effective laws are essential to preventing the tragedies that result from impaired driving. Drivers arrested for impaired driving in Maryland face both immediate Administrative sanctions and additional criminal penalties and license sanctions if the driver is convicted of an impaired driving offense. New! Important changes to Maryland’s drunk driving laws take effect on October 1, 2016, that include increased penalties and expansion of the Ignition Interlock Program. If you are arrested for impaired driving, the officer will advise you of your rights and provide you with an Advice of Rights form before requesting that you submit to a chemical blood alcohol concentration test. If you were operating a commercial vehicle or are a commercial driver license holder at the time of your stop, you are also subject to the disqualification of your commercial driving status. IMPAIRED DRIVING CONVICTIONS. If you are convicted of an impaired driving offense, you face both criminal penalties and license sanctions. Twelve points will be assessed on your driving record, and your driver’s license may be suspended or revoked. POINT ACCUMULATION. You will be required to go to Court for the citation(s) that were issued for an impaired driving offense. REPEAT OFFENDER. If you are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol and you have had a prior driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled dangerous substance violation within five years of the date of the violation, your license will be suspended for one year followed by participation in the Ignition Interlock Program for one year. The 2011 Drunk Driving Reduction Act, implemented on October 1, 2011 expanded Maryland’s Ignition Interlock program by requiring more drivers to participate.
How two medical students are changing marijuana DUI law
The Touro University students presented their research on marijuana DUI testing to a group of lawmakers who may change state law based on the pair’s class project. They explained to committee members that since starting the project last summer, they reached out to various law enforcement agencies throughout the state and realized that almost every law enforcement agency that they spoke with had a testing approach that was somewhat flawed. Many of the law enforcement agencies’ tests, particularly the urine tests, check for metabolites that are broken down from marijuana. Anyone who is pulled over with reasonable probable cause and is determined to have 2 nanograms or more of cannabis-born metabolites in their system can be charged with a DUI.The problem was some law enforcement agencies were checking for the wrong metabolites. Law enforcement agencies do have the equipment; they just need the knowledge and guidance. The amendment to existing law would standardize testing of drivers so that law enforcement officials could only use blood tests to determine whether a driver is high. Even with the edits, the marijuana DUI law would not be flawless. Vicki Higgins, a medical marijuana advocate, still is worried that medical marijuana users, who longterm build up marijuana metabolites in their system, will never be able to drive legally under current law. John Jones, who represented the Nevada District Attorneys Association, also supports the bill, and noted the importance of keeping a limit written into law. Later asked why they chose to research marijuana DUIs, Cullison and Lambert said it was really hard to keep track of current events while in medical school, but they had decided at the time that they wanted to do something that related to current events.