DUI law in Georgia
New DUI law increases penalties on first-time offenders
A new law going into effect Friday aims to cut down on drunk driving. Car breathalyzers-officially called Ignition Interlock Systems-require drivers to blow into a device to start their vehicle. The systems have been proven to substantially cut down on drunk driving. Under previous Pennsylvania laws, only repeat offenders have been required to install them. State Senator Scott Martin, a Lancaster County Republican and proponent of stronger impaired driving laws, said that policy was badly out of date. The new law, Act 33 of 2016, stipulates that any driver who’s pulled over with a blood alcohol level of.10, or who refuses to be tested for alcohol, has to install an Ignition Interlock System in their car. Offenders must pay for the devices, which cost between $900 and $1,300 a year. The law also establishes a new class of license that denotes a driver’s status as a DUI offender. Berks County Senator John Rafferty, a Republican who sponsored the measure, said this is just one part of a larger effort to crack down in drunk drivers. Rafferty and Martin also want to instate mandatory minimum sentences for drunk drivers, and harsher penalties for deadly DUI accidents.
Driver’s License Suspensions
When you commit traffic violations you will receive points on your driving record. Driving privileges will not be reinstated until you have satisfied all reinstatement requirements and received written notification of reinstatement from the Department of Motor Vehicles. The reinstatement fee can only be paid online or in the Montpelier office. Reinstatement fees can NOT be paid in a branch office. Reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense. Retake and pass the driving skills and knowledge tests. The Civil DLS Diversion Program is designed to help people regain their driver’s license while they pay off their fines and fees. Upon approval by VJB Hearing Officer, the Department of Motor Vehicles is notified that the person is in compliance with the VJB. DMV reinstatement requirements must also be met before your driver’s license is reinstated. If you have outstanding fines from a Vermont Civil Violation Complaint, you may pay those fees by using VT Courts Online’s Court Pay System. The reinstatement fee of your privilege to operate can be paid at any time, you do not need to wait until your Vermont Civil Violation Complaint is paid.
Answering the most-asked questions about Washington’s new E-DUI law
Washington State’s new distracted driving law went into effect on Sunday, and drivers across the state found themselves questioning just exactly what that means. The law is intended to encourage safer roads by not allowing drivers to drive while using their phone. Here are some of the most-asked questions KREM 2 has seen since the law took effect. The only way you would get fined for it would be if you were breaking the law while eating/drinking at the same time. Yes! Officials want you to use handsfree devices when driving. You are allowed to use GPS while driving, you should just type in your destination before you go. Remember, you are not supposed to be holding your phone in your hand while you drive, even at a stoplight. Washington State Patrol troopers said they do not plan to immediately hand out tickets to begin with. They said they plan to educate drivers for about the first six months, unless a driver is a repeat offender or involved in a crash where distracted driving is a factor. Washington’s new E-DUI law was today’s #3 most-Googled topic in the country!! So I broke down your biggest questions and got answers.
Utah Cuts DUI Alcohol Limit To Lowest Level In U.S.; Law Also Affects Gun Owners
The strict law has been controversial in Utah, with hundreds of calls to the governor’s office. Utah Gov. Gary Herbert has signed a bill into law that lowers the maximum blood alcohol limit for drivers to.05 percent from the current legal threshold of.08 percent – giving Utah the strictest drunken driving law in the nation. In addition to drivers, the law applies to anyone carrying a dangerous weapon. Lowering the limit has been controversial, pitting opponents in the tourism and hospitality industry against backers in the health and transportation fields. The law also has repercussions for people who carry guns in Utah. The state allows the open carry of dangerous weapons without a permit – but it restricts that right based on the blood alcohol maximum set for drivers. Despite being signed, there will likely be more arguments over the new law, which isn’t scheduled to take effect until Dec. 30, 2018. Even as he signed the bill Thursday, Herbert said the state needs to re-examine at how it penalizes drivers who are over the limit.
New Oklahoma drunken driving law ruled unconstitutional
The Oklahoma Supreme Court on Tuesday struck down a new drunken driving law for the same reason that has doomed many other legislative efforts. Those justices also specifically found unconstitutional the section of the law that allowed the seizure and destruction of a driver’s license without an administrative hearing. The 2017 Impaired Driving Elimination Act 2 would have revamped how drunken driving suspects are handled in several ways. Mothers Against Drunk Driving strongly supported it. Four DUI attorneys challenged the law in June on behalf of themselves and their clients. In a dissent, one justice was harshly critical of the decision. The new DUI driving law was supposed to go into effect Nov. 1. Justices on Oct. 30 blocked enforcement of its provisions because of the legal challenge. A key impetus for the law were issues with the administrative hearing process for drivers seeking to keep their licenses after DUI arrests. The backlog became so big that it often took more than a year for a driver to even have an administrative hearing.